Lancashire: Collinge Trophy 1st qualifier

Leading Collinge Trophy qualifer Jamie Burgoyne, pictured at Royal Troon

Pleasington’s Jamie back in the swing at Blackpool

Pleasington’s Jamie Burgoyne enjoyed a fine return to form as he won the first Lancashire Union Collinge Trophy qualifying event at Blackpool North Shore GC.

The stableford event is open to any county members. There are three qualifying events, with the top three at each one qualifying for the final at Fairhaven on September 15. The other two qualifiers take place at Leyland (May 26) and Haydock Park (July 21).

Joining Jamie in the final are Haigh Hall’s Johnahan Shepherd and Huyton & Prescot’s Craig Jones, who saw off three others on countback thanks to a 22-point return on the back nine. That included an eagle on the par five 15th.

Meanwhile the victorious nine handicapper from Pleasington went out in 21 points with birdies on three and six and then sealed the deal with eight pars on the inward loop.

But a superb up and down at 13 was critical to the 44-year-old maintaining the momentum of his round.

“I had blobbed 12 and then thinned my second through the green,” said Jamie. “Had I not parred there I think it might have all gone wrong it really settled me down and I parred in from there.”

It is the first time he has qualified for the final and his efforts represented a welcome return to form after a tough couple of years.

James added: “A few years back I was playing off five but I’ve had a poor couple of years. However since lockdown ended I have been putting in a lot of practice and it paid off.”

It was also a day to remember for Southport Old Links’ Ian Roylance, who aced the ninth on his way to 36 points. The hole in one earned him five points although whether he bought drinks for the other 98 entrants could not be confirmed.

Top Ten finishers (stableford)
1) Jamie Burgoyne (9) Pleasington, 41
2) Johnathan Shepherd (13) Haigh Hall, 39
3) Craig Jones (4) Huyton & Prescot, 39
4) Steven Richardson (8) Knott End, 39
5) David Chapman (13) Rossendale, 39
6) David Parkinson (10) Clitheroe, 38
7) Terence Barham (15) Hurlston Hall, 38
8) Paul Gore (17) Hurlston Hall, 38
9) Nicolas Gardner (13), Hurlston Hall, 37
10) Tom Houghton (17), Hurlston Hall, 37
For all the scores click here