Notts: Ladies County Championship

WON IT AGAIN: Nottinghamshire county champion Libby Kilbride with her winning voucher

Blistering start sets up second county title for Libby

NOTTS: Tuesday, May 18th

A birdie-eagle start set Hollinwell GC teenager Libby Kilbride on her way to a stunning Nottinghamshire Ladies County Championship final victory at her home course.

The 18-year-old A-Level student played some sparkling stuff as she saw off Notts Ladies’ Lauren Spray 6&4 to claim her second county crown in the space of four years.

Libby reached the final after a close-fought match with her good friend Madeline Smith, who opened the competition by breaking the course record. The 16-year-old was eight under par in the first qualifying round and followed up her stunning 67 with a 76 to win the 36-hole Challenge Cup.

Those watching were also treated to golfing brilliance at the start of the matchplay final as Libby put both her approaches at the opening two holes to three feet and, despite losing the third to a bogey, quickly built up a lead.

By the 14th she was back to three under par for her round, winning that hole and the title as a more aggressive approach in the knockout stages paid dividends for the USA-bound prospect. The plus two handicapper will take up a place at Jacksonville State University in the autumn.

Libby said: “On Friday (strokeplay qualifier) I think was too conscious of playing to my handicap and in the matchplay was a lot more attacking. In fact I got better as the week went on.”

Matchplay qualifiers – (par 75)
1) Madeline Smith (Norwood Park) 67, 76, 143 (Challenge Cup winner)
2) Amelia Wan (Notts, Hollinwell) 73, 75, 148
3) Lauren Spray (Notts Ladies) 79, 71, 150
4) Libby Kilbride (Notts, Hollinwell) 78, 76, 154
5) Vicki Johnson (The Nottinghamshire)  79, 77, 156
6) Elizabeth Wilson (Norwood Park) 85, 72, 157
7) Emily Rowbottom (Notts Hollinwell) 78, 81, 159
8) Caron Harrison (Sherwood Forest) 81, 79, 160
Matchplay scores – quarter-finals
Smith beat Harrison 3&2
Kilbride beat Johnson 2&1
Spray beat Wilson 2&1
Wan beat Rowbottom 22nd hole
Kilbride beat Smith 1 hole
Spray beat Wan 4&3
Kilbride beat Spray 6&4