Scotland: Boys Championship (U-18s)

Scottish Boys champion Archie Finnie (Royal Burgess)

No great expectations but champion Archie stands firm

SCOTLAND: Tuesday, July 20th

FORMAT: 36-hole strokeplay

Archie Finnie surprised himself by securing the Scottish Boys Amateur Championship at Bruntsfield Links despite some last-ditch heroics from runner-up Ross Laird.

The Royal Burgess Golfing Society player won by two holes but his opponent certainly made him sweat thanks to birdies at the 16th and 17th which cut his lead to one. With seven to play the gap had been four holes.

At the 18th the Glenbervie junior, who is a member of the Scottish national performance squad, could only bogey leaving Archie two for it from five feet and the match was conceded.

“It feels amazing,” Archie told “I came into this week with not many expectations. I knew I’d been practising a lot and getting better so it’s great to see the rewards.

“I had a great game with Ross. I was a nervous standing on the 18th hole but I knew I had been swinging it well all week. I was a bit disappointed when my second shot didn’t run quite as far as I thought it would, but the chip was good and I fancied myself to two-putt from five feet if I’d had to.”

FOUGHT TO THE FINISH: Ross Laird (Glenbervie)

Archie, who won a Stephen Gallacher Foundation event at Castle Park last month, qualified for the knockout stages in 13th with the top 64 making it into round one. Blairgowrie’s Gregor Graham led the 36-hole strokeplay stage by a remarkable seven shots thanks to a course-record-equalling 63 and 65 (-14).

The top seed went out in the third round to Bothwell Castle’s Callum Waugh while Archie made impressive progress and in the semi-final faced British Amateur quarter-finalist Calum Scott (Nairn), younger brother of Walker Cup star Sandy.

The Royal Burgess junior was behind the whole match, eventually drawing level by winning the 18th and then the first extra hole to reach his first national final.

Matchplay scores – round 1
• Gregor Graham (Blairgowrie) beat Dominic McGlinchey (Greenburn) 7&5
• John Jack Jnr (Gourock) beat Lewis Seath (Muckhart) 2 holes
• Connor Graham (Blairgowrie) lost to Finn Coull (Royal Montrose) 3&2
• Callum Waugh (Bothwell Castle) beat Jake Johnston (Royal Burgess) 6&4
• Calum D Scott (Nairn) beat Rhys McIlroy (Elderslie) w/o
• Rory McDonald-O’Brien (Shewsbury) lost to Alex McCaig (Strathlene Buckie) 3&2
• Charlie Roper (The Berkshire) beat Jamie Gibb (Aboyne) 1 hole
• Harvey Broadfoot (Troon Welbeck) beat Fraser Laird (Kemnay) 3&1
• Alfie Robinson (Pyecombe) beat Rhys Sim (Aboyne) 5&4
• Harry Bent (Gullane) beat Connor Wills (Royal Troon) 8&7
• Archie Finnie (Royal Burgess) beat Scott Spark (Newmachar) 7&6
• Ciaran Paterson Royal Burgess) lost to Robson Bothwell (Royal Aberdeen) 1 hole
• Adam Hawthorn (Murrayfield) beat Alistair J Mcneill (Nairn) 6&5
• Andrew Hendry (Gullane) beat Joshua Beveridge (Bathgate)19th
• Aamar Saleem (New Golf Club St Andrews) beat Adam Scott (Lochmaben) 7&6
• Ciaran Howatt (Dumfries & Co) beat MacKenzie Holmes (Kilmacolm) 3&1
• Ross Laird (Glenbervie) beat Toby Shirvell (Brocket Hall) 4&3
• Callum Kenneally (Dunbar) lost to Charlie Campbell (Murrayfield) 19th 
• Niall Shiells Donegan (The Meadows)_ beat Corey Edgar (Elgin) 20th
• Sam Hall (Gullane) lost to Luke Volland (Muckhart) 1 hole
• Cameron Johnstone (Kilmarnock (Barassie)) beat Logan Glatley (Sandyhills) 19th
• Dylan Cairns (Royal Troon) lost to Alex Mcgillivary (Nairn) 4&3
• Max Shirvell (Brocket Hall) beat Rory Mcclafferty (Linlithgow) 2&1
• John McCracken (Kilmarnock (Barassie)) beat Ewan Cuthbert (Nairn) 3&1
• Cormac Sharpe (Blairgowrie) beat Colin Mckenzie (Lochmaben) 6&4
• Alex North (St Andrews) beat Calum Daun (Nairn) 1 hole
• Jamie Mann (Close House) beat James Wood (Bathgate) 6&5
• William McGhie (Lancaster) beat Connor Currie (Turnhouse) 4&3
• Archie Wyatt (Loretto School) beat Callum Bruce (Deeside) 6&4
• Daniel Bullen (Auchterarder) beat Max Barclay (Ayr Belleisle) 3&2
• Daniel Aitken (Aboyne) beat Alexander Farmer (Kilmacolm) 5&3
• Aidan O’Hagan (Old Course Ranfurly) beat Aidan Lawson (Bruntsfield Links) 6&4
Round 2
Graham beat Jack 2&1
Coull lost to Waugh 5&4
Scott beat McCaig 7&5
Roper beat Broadfoot 5&4
Robinson lost to Bent 2 holes
Finnie beat Bothwell 2&1
Hawthorn beat Hendry 5&3
Saleem beat Howatt 3&2
Laird beat Campbell 2&1
Donegan beat Volland 4&3
Johnstone beat Mcgillivray 6&5
M Shirvell beat McCracken 7&6
Sharpe lost to North 23rd
Mann lost to McGhie 20th
Wyatt beat Bullen 3&2
Farmer lost to O’Hagan 5&4
Round 3
Graham lost to Waugh 4&3
Scott beat Roper 4&2
Bent lost to Finnie 3&2
Hawthorn lost to Saleem 20th
Laird beat Donegan 4&3
Johnstone lost to M Shirvell 19th
North beat McGhie 19th
Wyatt beat O’Hagan 2 holes
Waugh lost to Scott 1 hole
Finnie beat Saleem 4&3
Laird beat M Shirvell 5&3
North lost to Wyatt 4&2
Scott lost to Finnie 19th hole
Laird beat Wyatt 1 hole
Finnie beat Laird 2 holes