Yorkshire: Division 4 Team Championship

A jubilant Pike Hills, with William Adamson (left), Chris Lone (centre) and Alistair Smith

2010 White Rose champions impress at Middlesbrough

YORKS: Thursday June 10th

Pike Hills’ main main Alistair Smith delivered as the York club won the Yorkshire Division Four Team Championship at Middlesbrough GC last night.

The scratch player, who was part of the team who won the overall championship at Malton & Norton in 2010, was level par for his two rounds as he, new club member William Adamson (1) and captain Chris Lone (1) took the title by seven shots.

Promotion back to Division Three represents a big moment for everyone at the club. They had suffered three successive relegations having previously spent the previous seven years in the top division. The death five years ago of club and York Union stalwart stalwart Russ Chilton led to a decline in their fortunes.

“It all fell apart after Russ died,” said Chris. “He did everything. He was the glue that held everything together.”

Russ would have been proud of the way Pike Hills kept it going after lunch. They were two behind Cleveland after the first round but Smith’s afternoon 68 (-2) was the best score in the second round. For Captain Lone, who was battling his own game, it was proving a struggle to monitor progress with live scoring in progress.

Chris said: “I couldn’t get a signal until the ninth and when I checked we were five clear. That helped matters.”

Cleveland also gained promotion along with runners-up Horsforth – ex pro Simon Hurd played strongly – Selby, Beverley & ER and Waterton Park.

The Teesside club were indebted to a superb effort from their talented left hander Cameron Wallace. He shot a pair of 69s to top the individual standings.

The six promoted clubs will take their place in the Division Three Championship at Knaresborough on June 23rd while the overall final will be hosted by Ganton on July 21st.

Yorkshire Division Four Team Championship scores (P = promoted)
1) Pike Hills 435 (+15) (p)
2) Horsforth 442 (+22) (p)
3) Cleveland 442 (+22) (p)
4) Selby 443 (+23) (p)
5) Beverley & ER 444 (+24) (p)
6) Waterton Park 450 (+30) (p)
7) Headingley 455 (+35) 
8) Woodsome Hall 455 (+35)
9) Bracken Ghyll 456 (+36)
10) Baildon 457(+37)
11) Oakdale 459 (+39)
12) Thirsk & Northallerton 459 (+39)
13) Renishaw Park 461 (+41)
14) Halifax West End 472 (+52)
15) Doncaster 474 (+54)
16) Scarcroft 475 (+55)
17) Knaresborough 483 (+63)
18) Otley 489 (+69)
For all the individual scores click here